Skip to content →

Fourth edition of the ‘Listening Room’

‘Listening room — musical signs of time’ (‘Słuchalnia — “muzyczne znaki czasu’) — international young new music festival — for the fourth time will host in the Toruń Centre of Contemporary Art ‘Znaki Czasu’ from 25th until 26th of November 2016. It’s the only festival in the region, which gives the possibility to experience live music by Polish and European young composers of 21st century.

This year the main focus of the Listening Room will be the collections of works composed especially for outstanding performers who inspire composers to write their music.

Four concerts within this year’s Listening Room will present four unique collections of compositions dedicated to such contemporary music personalities as: harpsichordist Gośka Isphording, accordionist Rafał Łuc, Platypus Ensemble and trio Layers.

Four concerts will attempt to shed light on mutual inspirations between young composers and performers, which significantly influence and boost new music development. The programme includes first performances of three works composed especially for the festival by Jacek Sotomski (for Rafał Łuc), Dominik Karski (for Ryszard Lubieniecki) and Piotr Bednarczyk (for Layers trio) as well as Polish premiere of Mikołaj Laskowski’s work for Rafał Łuc.

The solitude of two soloists-instrumentalists: Gośka Isphording and Rafał Łuc within their concerts will be enriched with diverse electronic sounds, whereas video projections will make visible the multitude of layers of contemporary music – and multitude of layers of this year’s Listening Room.

Gośka Isphording, Polish harpsichordist working and living the Netherlands, since years has inspired composers from all over Europe. Therefore in Toruń she will present an excerpt from her rich collection of works written especially for her. Baroque harpsichord will be mirrored and multiplied by 21st century electronic music — tape, live electronics, even video projection — means of expression almost that close to Gośka as harpsichord itself (whereas its anatomy will be explored within Pierre Jodlowski’s audiovisual composition). Scheduled first performance of Cezary Duchnowski’s Sequenza will be replaced by a work, from which Gośka started her electroacoustic adventure: Chatarra by Ton Bruynèl.

Trio Layers — young ensemble distinguished by Polish TV channel TVP Kultura for an interesting stage personality — will perform works most of which have been written within recent few years by young international composers (Halay, Amador) and outstanding Polish composers (W. Blecharz, D. Karski).

Platypus Ensemble, Vienna-based international ensemble, since recent few years has built and consequently developed their unique collection of young composers’ works commissioned all over the world. Pieces written by Platypus members — like Simon Vosecek, Hannes Dufek or the cellist Tomasz Skweres — will be combined within the concert programme with compositions inspired by the Platypus creative activity and enriched with a more classical accent — Lutoslawski’s Sacher Variation. Such a part of a rich Platypus collection will be presented live at the Toruń CoCA.

Rafał Łuc will present his unique collection of works which have been already distinguished in Poland and abroad. Programme will include pieces written for accordion with electronics or tape (Wrocław music specialty — to recall Cezary Duchnowski or young generation members like Mikołaj Laskowski, whose neath me itch with a mixer part Rafał and Mikołaj will perform in Toruń for the first time in Poland). We’ll also listen to acc++ca by Cezary Duchnowski — work nominated for Polonica Nova Prize 2014 and Sławomir Kupczak’s 4 dances with a prelude (2014), nominated for Palma Ars Acustica Award. And — last but not least — a new Jacek Sotomski’s postinternet audiovisual work will be world-premiered.

‘Listening Room’ — musical signs of time.

Collections. Peronalities.

  • Date and place: 25th–26th November 2016, Centre of Conteporary Art ‘Znaki Czasu’ in Toruń, Poland
  • Organizer: Cultural-Artistic Association ‘Megaphone’
  • Curator: Małgorzata Burzyńska
  • Partners: Centre of Contemporary Art ‘Znaki Czasu’ in Toruń, Austrian Cultural Forum Warsaw, Toruń Symphony Orchestra

Festival financed by the City of Toruń, the Kuyavian-Pomeranian Voivodeship
and Austrian Cultural Forum Warsaw.

Published in Bez kategorii